Pizza Studio – Downtown San Diego

The Pizza Studio San Diego

140404 The Pizza Studio San DiegoYunti works in downtown San Diego, so when I’m in the area I call her up for lunch. I’ve been hearing about these “fast-casual pizza” places that are now popping up in San Diego and when I found myself in the area, I dragged Yunti with me. The Pizza Studio is located right next to Sushi Deli 2 in the Gaslamp District Downtown (just outside of Horton Plaza), so parking is not too bad if you park at Horton Plaza. They have several location in the LA area, and I’m also excited to see that there will be one opened in Poway (a little closer for me) soon.

The concept is pretty simple; build your own pizza. For $7.99 (+ tax) you get an 11 inch pizza with unlimited toppings. Or you can get one of their “starving artists” pizzas for $5.99. You start by choosing the type of crust, sauce, cheese, toppings, spice it up, and add some finishing touches. It’s kind of like going to Subway sandwiches and getting to choose whatever you want but end up with a fresh pizza instead of a sandwich. Yunti and I started by getting just 1 pizza to share not knowing how much food we were getting (and not knowing how hungry we were). After finishing our pizza – while watching other pizzas being made on the spot, we went back for round 2. For round 2 the dude behind the counter recognized us making a little awkward. It almost felt as though we were pigging out haha.

140404 Pizza Studio 1

140404 The Pizza Studio

Pizza 1

140404 Pizza Studio 2

  • Crust: traditional crust (I was originally going to get whole grain & flax seed but changed my mind when I ordered)
  • Sauce: basil pesto sauce
  • Cheese: freshly grated mozzarella cheese
  • Veggies: roma tomatoes, sliced mushrooms, artichoke hearts, kalamata olives, and sliced pineapple.
  • Roasted veggies: zucchini
  • Premium meats: all natural chicken breast, pepperoni (on half)
  • Spice it up: truffle salt

It’s kind of hard to mess up a pizza fresh out of the oven, and our pizza creation was almost perfect. I think it was the olives and the truffle salt together, because our pizza came out a little too salty for us.

Pizza 2

140404 Pizza Studio 4

  • Crust: traditional crust again
  • Sauce: tomato blend and basil pesto sauce
  • Cheese: freshly grated mozzarella cheese
  • Veggies: sliced mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and sliced pineapples
  • Roasted veggies: carmelized onions
  • Premium meats: sweet chicken sausage
  • Spice it up: truffle salt

We got this one to go, but we each had a slice to try before taking it home. I wonder if it’s because it came in the box or not but this pizza was a lot warmer than the first. I did love that we could have multiple sauces. And it was the truffle salt that was very salty…

140404 Pizza Studio ToGo Box

140404 Pizza Studio 5

There are several other pizza places similar to Pizza Studio throughout San Diego. I think they’re all priced a little lower than the Pizza Studio though Pizza Studio is the only one that let’s you choose a different type of crust. I guess I’m going to have to make my way to these other “fast-casual pizza” places.

119 Broadway
San Diego, CA 92101
pizzastudio.com
2 comments

  1. Did you enjoy it? Would you go back?

    1. yeah, I really did enjoy it. I really liked that I got to choose the crust. I just went to another one of these pizza places and ended up being a little disappointed compared to the Pizza Studio.

      I’m waiting for the Poway location to open, since that’ll be closer and more convenient for me.

Leave a Reply

