Chinatown Boston Food: Gourmet Dumpling House

Gourmet Dumpling House

150510f Boston Chinatown _Sh 29
We went back to Chinatown before leaving Boston, and decided that we were going to brave the long line outside of this restaurant. We were very curious about this place because there was always quite a crowd outside waiting. We ended up waiting about half an hour for a table and it was worth the wait.

I couldn’t really figure out exactly what kind of Chinese cuisine they served because they kind of had a little bit of every thing. I looked to Yelp and found a few recommendations and then picked out a few more things that sounded good to me: dumplings, bao, soup dumplings,  oyster pancake, and fried noodle.

150510f Boston Chinatown Gourmet Dumpling House 32

Their dumplings look homemade, and I think they are homemade. There are those who really like dumplings with the really thin skin, and there is me (haha). I love these thick skinned (describes me sometimes). These ended up being some good juicy thick skinned dumplings. I think that’s more of Northern Chinese styled dumpling.

150510f Boston Chinatown Gourmet Dumpling House 45

150510f Boston Chinatown Gourmet Dumpling House 40

There is quite a hype for soup dumplings nowadays! Especially now that we have Din Tai Fung in Southern California. That has honestly made me relatively reluctant to order soup dumplings anywhere else. But I this was highly recommended on yelp, so I went for it.
150510f Boston Chinatown Gourmet Dumpling House 46
Each order only had 7 dumplings but these dumplings are bigger then the ones you would usually get. I ended up really liking these dumplings although they’re very different from what I’m used to of. As you can see in my picture above, the skin is kind of thick and the meat is a red-ish darker color.
150510f Boston Chinatown Gourmet Dumpling House 29
150510f Boston Chinatown Gourmet Dumpling House 24

The fried noodle looked so good!!! But it ended up being a little too salty for us. I think they were too heavy on the oyster sauce. My mom said that oyster sauce can be tricky because the taste can vary. I guess one good thing we got out of this dish was that my mom learned to make it at home.

Gourmet Dumpling House
52 Beach St
Boston, MA 02111

 

Leave a Reply

