Take Out: Phuong Trang Traditional Vietnamese

150729 Phuong Trang _JP

Phuong Trang has been known for several traditional Vietnamese dishes in San Diego, and somewhat a go to place for some of my favorite “fun” Vietnamese dishes like the 7 Course Beef or the Grilled Cat Fish. They have a big menu (like most Vietnamese restaurants) and since I’m getting take out for 2, I ended up getting two simple dishes that would be easy for me to take home and serve: “Bun Tom Thit Nuong” (Vermicelli Noodle Bowl with Char-Grilled Pork Skewers and Shrimp) and “Com Tam Dac Diet” (House Special Broken Rice). I did not get Pho.

150728 Vermicelli Noodle Bowl with Char-Grilled Pork Skewers and Shrimp

One of my favorite go to dishes would be the Vermicelli Noodle Bowls. At Phuong Trang this time, I picked up the “Bun Tom Thit Nuong” (Vermicelli Noodle Bowl with Char-Grilled Pork Skewers and Shrimp). I added shrimp making it a little more special then usual. I’m usually happy without the shrimp but I was pleasantly surprised that the shrimp was a fresh and had a perfect little bit of “crunch” with the vermicelli.

150728 Phuong Trang House Special Broken Rice _01

I got the “Com Tam Dac Diet” (House Special Broken Rice) with included shredded pork, steamed egg meatloaf, ground shrimp wrapped in tofu skin, and pork chop. I got the House Special so that my friend can get a good sampling, since Pho is apparently the only real Vietnamese dish he’s really had.

The broken rice and meat was actually very well flavored and really didn’t need the extra fish sauce poured over, but it was nice to add just a little for taste.

Leave a Reply

