Melbourne Docklands and IGG International Buffet

Melbourne – Day 4 – Part 3

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _10

Our relatives in Melbourne invited us to their house and then to dinner. After spending an afternoon catching up (and meeting my relatives) we went to dinner at IGG International Buffet located in Melbourne Docklands.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _02150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _08

We arrived a little early stayed outside and enjoyed the view just outside of the restaurant. Melbourne Docklands wasn’t much until the 2000’s when this area finally started developing. In this newly developed part of Melbourne, I’m told that there are quite a few big companies making it their home.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _01150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _03 _SH

Apart from IGG International Buffet, there is the Melbourne Star Ferris Wheel, and the Docklands Stadium or Etihad Stadium. Which was actually what made hanging out outside so nice. We had views of both the stadium, the ferris wheel, and some very interesting art (?) along the dock.

IGG International Buffet
51-53 Victoria Harbour Promenade

(corner 111 Merchant Street)
Docklands, Melbourne, VIC

There were 14 of us, so we were seated at a very long table. Yuntiha and I were left to sit at a far end of the table with the kids (so we were assigned the kiddie corner) our parents sat at the other end of the table catching up.

The restaurant didn’t look very big but there were definitely a few sections of food that made me quite excited. But do note that I actually don’t like buffets because I have found myself walking around with an empty plate and then returning back to my seat with an empty plate because I couldn’t decide on what to eat. I sometimes, really just don’t see anything I want to eat. Isn’t that weird?

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _15

The main focus was the seafood of course. Most of the seafood is really the first thing you will see when walking over to get food. And most of this is served cold, so I guess it’s the appetizer? Or it’s the course that goes between the salad/apps and the main course.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _21

There is a never ending supply of sushi rolls, which were ok. I’d rather have a California Roll in California.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _24150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _25

The crab looks really pretty, but I actually kept skipping this. I just don’t like having to deal with the shell. Uncle actually ended up getting a few for me and cracked the open for me. I’m a lucky girl. The meat was pretty good, but I’m told the shell was super hard and not easy to get through.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _26150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _27

I had a lot of salmon sashimi (that was what I ended up filling my plate with most of the time).

As for the raw oysters, I was usually too slow to get any. My family kept an eye for me and got oysters for me. I’m not sure if it was because people were eating all of the oysters and saving any for me or not, but my Mom said there is a guy their shucking the oysters one at a time (doesn’t sound very fun).

The oysters don’t look as pretty and juicy because the guy just opens the shell. He didn’t lift the oyster off the shell. Did you know that they usually (and should) pull it off the oyster and then turn the oyster around to make it look juicy and fatty.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _33150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _32

There are a few sections for hot foods. The main and I guess the most traditional things would be the ones in the heated trays. Everything was nicely labeled but it really does take opening each one to decide if I want to eat it.

I ended up trying the Chicken Fricasse and the Lobster Noodles. Both were okay, but I prefer the sashimi.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _34150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _22

Along the back wall is more hot food served in a slightly more traditional way (at least that’s what I remember a buffet looking like).

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _35

They make udon noodles and soups etc to order. I actually missed this a few times, Mom and Auntie actually got it for me. That’s what is awesome about eating with a big family; they make sure that I get to eat everything.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _16

The dessert section was huge! There is a conveyer belt section, a few shelves of cakes etc, a chocolate fountain, ice cream, more cake, and fruit.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _18150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _19

This was probably the most tempting section. There was a little bit of everything and I’m sure that if the buffet only had this available for dessert it would still be amazing.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _29

The chocolate fountain was super fun! Especially since we had a few kids in our group.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _31150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _36

It felt a little awkward scooping my own ice cream out of the freezer. And I didn’t want to ruin the pretty cakes in these trays.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _37150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _38

The only problem with all of these desserts is that I was already quite full from all of the sashimi, seafood, and hot foods. I managed to have some fruit and a few lighter desserts.

150913f Docklands igg Seafood Buffet _41

We were eating as the sun was setting and we completely missed the sunset. The restaurant had their blinds down as the sun was setting and because of that we didn’t get to see it at all. I guess it would be quite distracting to eat if the sun was shining into the restaurant.

So by the time we were finished with dinner, it was dark outside yielding a nice view of the Melbourne Star Ferris Wheel.

2 comments

  1. The selection of food looks great in that buffet. Usually I get full just from sampling small bits of everything. I agree oyster looks better flipped

    1. Yeah, I didn’t know that about oysters until my uncle told me.

Leave a Reply

