Kopitiam: Singapore Toast Cafe in Seoul

130911Kopitiam

I studied abroad in Singapore for a year and I came back with a love for Singaporean cuisine. Being in San Diego, I honestly don’t get my fix of Singaporean food (ever). Does anyone know where I can go in Southern California? Anyways, being in Asia (I know, it’s a big continent but I’m getting a little closer) I figured I was a little closer to Singapore I was secretly hoping I’d find something.

Where (Phone Number and Address):
02-392-8585
54-24 Daehyeon-dong
Seodaemun-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Click here for a Map and directions

When we were shopping near the Ehwa Women’s Univerisity, I saw a place called Kopitiam! With out even hesitating, I dragged my friends inside for some Kaya Toast (yay for a little taste of Singapore!). It is actually located on the second and third floor of the building, which yields some good people watching views.

130911Kopitiam1

We each got a drink, a slice of chocolate cake, and an order of kaya toast. I love that it is one slice of toast sliced in half with kaya jam and butter inside. It oddly feels a little healthier since it has less carbs (so I guess its less carbs but we get the butter inside).

It was definitely not the same as what I had in Singapore, but it was good enough for the time being (it would have been nice if we had a little bit of soft boiled eggs and soya sauce). And thanks to my cousin who when to Singapore only a couple months later, she brought back a couple jars of kaya for me! So I’ll be savoring that for as long as I can.

130911Kopitiam2

The third floor of the cafe was super cute with little areas along the window Korean style — we had to take off our shoes and sit on the floor.

Leave a comment